• EN


For each country, the average of valid observations over the observation time (total number of deaths divided by the number of years with data) has been calculated. This average constituted the ‘100 % base’. For each year, the number is presented as a percentage of this average number.

Eight countries provided information for 2008 and eight did not. The trends for those countries that provided information can be seen in the figures with trends by country. Belgium provided data for the years 1987 to 1997, therefore it is not included in the series. For Greece, the data for 2008 is not presented as a significant correction of the number of cases next year is expected (due to confirmation of cases under investigation).

Number of cases per country per year are presented in Table DRD-2.

In some countries, the ‘national definitions’ include a limited number of cases of deaths indirectly related to drug use. See Methodological notes in the Statistical bulletin.

Related links:

Statistical bulletin 2007: Figure DRD-11 part (ii)

Statistical bulletin 2008: Figure DRD-11 part (ii)

Statistical bulletin 2009: Figure DRD-11 part (ii)

See also ‘General notes for interpreting data’ on the Explanatory notes and help page.


Reitox national reports 2009, taken from general mortality registries or special registries (forensic or police). Based on national definitions as presented in methods and definitions for DRD ‘Definitions of acute drug-related deaths in EU Member States’, as used in the EMCDDA Annual report and reported in Reitox national reports.

(see the help page for information about formats etc.)

About the EMCDDA

The European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA) is the reference point on drugs and drug addiction information in Europe. Inaugurated in Lisbon in 1995, it is one of the EU's decentralised agencies. Read more >>

Contact us

Praça Europa 1, Cais do Sodré
1249-289 Lisbon
Tel. (351) 211 21 02 00
Fax (351) 218 13 17 11

More contact options >>

Page last updated: Friday, 09 July 2010