The EU justice and home affairs agencies


The European Union has set up a number of decentralised agencies to carry out specific legal, technical or scientific tasks. In the area of justice and home affairs (JHA) there are currently nine agencies spread across different Member States. The JHA agencies established a network, in 2006, to foster bilateral and multilateral cooperation and synergies in areas of common interest (e.g. strategic and operational work, external relations or training). This brochure provides an overview of the missions and tasks of the nine agencies.

Download as PDF

Table of contents

  • Introduction 3
  • Frontex 7
  • eu-LISA 9
  • EASO 11
  • EIGE 13
  • EMCDDA 15
  • CEPOL 17
  • Europol 19
  • FRA 20
  • Eurojust 22